WIFI/Bluetooth Module Help

I’m new to the IoT world and am working on design that require WIFI/Bluetooth and am wondering if anyone has any recommendations on pre-certified modules or how to go about selecting one?

Basically the product will have an analog sensor that needs to be read via an ADC and then this sensor data is to be sent to the cloud via WIFI. My intent is to use the Bluetooth only for initial configuration of WIFI login credentials and then Bluetooth would no longer be needed. I would like the device to connect to WIFI and transmit the sensor data it logged about once a day to minimize power consumption as this will be a battery operated device.

Does anyone have any thoughts on a good approach to selecting a module or a specific recommendation? I was looking at the Laird Sterling-EWB as it seems to be a pretty good module but I know lots of people like the Esspresif ESP32 series also… my hesitance to the ESP32 is that it seems to be extremely cheap, at least on Digikey. Any idea why the ESP32 is so much cheaper than the rest? Is the support poor? Quality questionable? Trying to understand what the trade offs are… any thoughts or advice on this topic is welcome.

Esp32 rocks

We have evaluated it, but turned away for other reasons I am not at liberty to disclose

In my private business, I am working on using it for future projects

Note that they have been hacked

The S2 module should be safe

ESP32 is fine for most usages, but do enough homework to know if the BLE requirement is proven. The weakness of ESP32 is the Bluetooth stack.

I’m reading kvk’s post, and I’m guessing the “reasons” are related to security. If you’re not bothered about having enterprise security free of Chinese government backdoors into the network, it’s great.