Tim's Build Log

Hello World!

I have been doing software development for nearly 25 years, but I am completely new to hardware. I have spent about 2 years hobbying around with some development boards that utilize Xilinx fpga’s. As a software developer, being able to create hardware through programming is very interesting to me. Of course, once I spent time in VHDL and Verilog I discovered that being able to develop logic circuits in FPGA’s did me little good without being able to design a board with the peripherals I want.

In the last couple weeks I have started experimenting with KiCAD. There are plenty of tutorials out there for the software, but none that seem to walk me through enough to do a design which includes an FPGA. I am hoping that some of those gaps get filled in here.

It seems that every project I come up with requires large bandwidth sensors and I “think” FPGA’s are the right tool for that. I am also interested in understanding better how to utilize the wires and connections that I have for higher throughputs.

Perhaps what I hope to get out of this is reaching too far, but I am very excited to have finally found a path to learn more.

1 Like

With the exception of a few “toy” FPGAs (e.g. iCE40-HX1K), most of them come in BGA packages. As a result, PCB layout can quickly get complicated. There are some resources out there for doing a proper fanout from a BGA package (for example, this thread is a good discussion and links to a few pages worth reading: https://forum.kicad.info/t/bga-fan-out-design-with-6-layers-pcb/7642/6).