Tim Fake's Build Log

Hi,

My name is Tim. I have a Masters in Computer Science. I love hardware and I want to establish a circuit design consulting business. At the moment I am working on building my projects portfolio. My first project is to develop a sensor platform.

1 Like

Welcome Tim! Can’t wait to see what goes into the sensor platform! Any initial thoughts?

At the moment I’ve started out with the ESP32, a Sigma-Delta ADC (ADS122C04IPWR), an ECG sensor (maybe based off of this: https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Maxim-Integrated/MAX32663AGTGFS%2B?qs=81r%2BiQLm7BTEDwSsf%2FqfAg%3D%3D), some sort of cuff-less blood pressure monitor (I haven’t identified a sensor for this), and a pressure sensor to detect and measure grip strength (I haven’t identified a sensor for this).

I just found this idea for a cuff-less bp monitor: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6292433/

1 Like

Hello Tim,

We explored some years ago a way the pulse transit time for blood pressure using images, and it works. For the PTT, you need one of the peaks of the ECG and the peak of the Plethysmography, i cannot reveal the way to infer the ECG from images but if you have a direct ECG is a very straight forward methodology since the Plethysmography can be obtained optically like the blood oxygen monitors . Using images, we got to a dead end since there is a point where phase shifts makes the process useless for some subjects.

Any way, welcome good luck with your project

3 Likes

There has a slight change of plans for the sensors. To make the project simpler for the first time out, I’ve gone with the AHT20 Temperature and Humidity sensor, Grove 3-Axis Accelerometer, and Grove Light Sensor v1.2. I’ve also decided to add on a 24 bit Sigma-Delta ADC (ADS122C04) for future devices that require higher precision.

Here is the schematic so far: