Tim Brodie's Build Log

Hi there!

I’ve been a software developer and business consultant for a few decades now. I’m looking to add some fun and interesting hardware development to the mix.

So for the past couple of weeks, I’ve engaged the free projects Shine and Blinky. It was good to work through concrete examples, and test out the tool chain for creating something. I’m still waiting for the PCBs to be delivered, and have all the parts. Decided to enroll in the Journeyman subscription as well.

Welcome @tmbrodie2,
It’s pretty exciting when those first boards arrive. Looking forward to seeing how you get on and what other projects you will come up with!

Thanks Steve! Looking at the 1206 packages, I’m going to need to get some magnification together to do the soldering. I’m thinking of a 1080p scope being displayed on a 27" screen. Any thoughts or recommendations?

I was exactly the same at the start. I have a head band magnifier with LED light that works quite well. I quickly realised that soldering these parts is not so bad - I do try to avoid anything smaller than 0805.

1 Like

Good lighting source and video display lag may also be a consideration. Joe

1 Like

Finished up a number of sections this week. It was really good to dig in. Finished the first six sections, along with Revision Control. I feel well set up to get into the CE Header module. Got my github account set up and working. I’ve used SVN in the past, but wanted to try out GIT. I’ve installed the Tortoise GIT explorer shell extension, because I prefer how the state of the files is directly visible. There’s a nice context menu interface as well. Now things will slow down a little bit, as I’m breaching back into some less familiar territory. :slight_smile: