RPi stepper driver and relay build log

Hi Everyone,

I’m building an automated precision cutting system. I’ve been building the electronics using prototype boards and want to get some PCBs fabbed.

I’m new to KiCAD, PCB fabrication and electronics in general. I have a bit of knowledge from some classes in high school many years ago. That being said, I am interested and have learnt a ton in short period of time. All of this has been due to some wonderfully patient and helpful people like Rob, Martin, Hermit, Jim, Dale, Keruseykaryu, Joan_Sparky, David and Niluje (from KiCADInfo Forum) - thanks everyone!

I’m moving on from the schematic design (attached) to the PCB layout.

To be continued…

1 Like

I’ve designed and printed one small board recently. It was single sided and just a means to get my feet wet.

The current layout is more complicated and I have a few questions…

Right now I’m playing with calculating trace widths for some of the more current heavy parts of the board. For a 2 oz copper board, at 2A the calculator suggesting a width of 1.25 mm for short runs. No problem. If all the steppers were running I may need about 8 Amps. I am wondering if it is common to run thick traces (5-10mm) or if it is better to solder some wires?

Attached is an image a test layout I am working on for the stepper drivers.

Any comments, tips or suggestions very welcome!!

Thanks

Adam

I would create a zone for the power rails, and enclose the required pads within it.

The question about trace thickness is complicated, because it is about thermal dissipation. There are many factors involved, and can’t be taken in isolation. For example, if the PCB is enclosed in a small box with no airflow vs a card in a rack with forced airflow. Effectively, the copper area of a trace acts as a heatsink, with more area providing better heat dissipation. Copper conducts heat well, but is impeded by narrow strips. FR4 conducts relatively poorly.