Python application for running test equipment

Hi

I did my first Python application today. A simple application that controls my test equipment to do characterization of a power supply, efficiently, line/load regulation etc

The app pulls in information on a setup box to define key constraints, outputs the results to a file and plots relevant curves

(next step is to have the app generate a word document from the results)

Anyway, I want to add the ability to load config files and define different types of measurements, but before doing that, and spending time, is there something out there that has been done already?

I have all this working in Labwindows, did it 10 years ago, but want to use newer tools and add Python to the list of skills. Also it seems Python does this with a lot more condensed code

In the old days one could buy Test stand (also Labwindows, but I guess that’s very expensive)

I am using SCPI commands by the way

Regards

Klaus

I’m no python expert, but from what I understand its biggest weakness is lack of good gui tools. I use Xojo for all my desktop apps - it’s super-easy to make decent GUIs with it, the IDE is available for Mac and Windows, and it can compile for Mac, Windows, and Linux targets. It’s very object-oriented, has simple, readable syntax, and has an extremely helpful user community.

Xojo doesn’t support python directly, but there’s a third-party developer offering a plugin that allows Xojo apps to easily communicate with python scripts.

I was actually looking at this recently because I need to write a controller for a specific piece of test equipment, but then I saw that the TE has a serial port, so I don’t need to bother with python VISA stuff at all, I can just talk SCPI with it over USB serial directly from Xojo.