Nathan S. Build Log

Hello to the Contextual Electronics Community. My name is Nathan and I graduated with a degree in Electrical Engineering in 2018 with about 2 years of cumulative experience in a coop in industrial controls. My current job involves third party repair for medical imaging equipment. This includes developing repair procedures, reverse engineering the equipment and developing test equipment.

I have recently been evaluating where I want to take my career and found that I really love electronics design especially in embedded systems. I found Contextual Electronics listening to the Amp Hour podcast and decided to sign up in order to build the design side of my skills since my undergraduate classes and work experience has mostly been with base theory and circuit analysis. Eventually I would like to focus more on hardware development whether at my current employer or, if not possible there, at a future job.

For projects I am working on an interface controller for a coffee roaster that I use regularly that will allow me to attach additional thermocouples, and interact with the roaster via a web browser/USB to run pre-configured roast profiles and monitor the status of the roast more completely.

2 Likes

Over the last week or so I completed both the Shine on You Crazy Kicad and Getting to Blinky courses. I didn’t order the boards and assemble at this point because I was mostly using these to get a feel for how Contextual Electronics courses work and how to use Kicad. I have done PCB design a little bit before but I was using my current boss’s preferred ancient copy of CIRCAD '98.