Murray's Build Log

Greetings all!
This is my Build Log. I am a self-taught electronics hobbyist. I hope to gain skills and knowledge as I progress through the course and beyond. Thank you @ChrisGammell for creating this awesome space!

2 Likes

Shine On
I followed along the tutorial and made a few small changes. I thought I’d use a mix of through hole and surface mount components of different sizes.
I took some LEDs I had and measured their forward voltage. My test conditions were VCC = 3V3 and the LEDs were in series with a 1K ohm resistor.
Vf Testing
I then calculated the resistance values for a 2 mA current through the LEDs at 3V3. The 2 mA was decided on because according to the Raspberry Pi website, “The Raspberry Pi 3.3V supply was designed with a maximum current of ~3mA per GPIO pin.”
In my research about resistors, I learned about the E-series for resistors and other passives. I picked the E96 series even though 1% accuracy was a bit overkill, and rounded all the calculated resistances to the nearest E96 value. I was then able to complete my schematic.

I paired up the 3mm red LED with a 1/4W through hole resistor, the yellow 1206 LED with a 1206 resistor, the orange 0803 LED with a 0803 resistor, and the green 0603 LED with a 0603 resistor.
I performed calculations to ensure that the power ratings of the resistors were acceptable for the current that was going to flow through them.
There’s a lot of new stuff in Kicad 7.0’s PCB editor, so I took some time playing around with it. The layout was pretty straightforward.

I ordered my PCBs from Oshpark and the remaining components from Digikey.
Soldering the board was pretty straightforward.
I had an old Raspberry Pi 2 laying around, and wrote a program in Python to blink the LEDs. It was my first time writing a program on the Pi that used the GPIO pins, so that was fun.
Blinking LEDs
On to the next project!

1 Like

Blinky… V1 - V5?!?
Alas, the trusty 555 timer, one of the world’s most well known ICs.