Louis' Build Log

Hi Everyone!

I have been on this forum as a reader (aka spy :-D) for many weeks now, it was time to introduce myself!

I am Louis, I am a hobbyist in electronics for many years now. I have decided two years ago that I wanted to try more freelancing in that area. I am already a freelance for years in I.T. but I’ve had enough of this digital/everything in the cloud/nothing physical anymore world and wanted to go back to something a bit more “hands-on”.

In the past two years, I have done several projects with Lora communication, sensors acquisition, automation. (will post some pictures hereunder), but everything was a long path between discoveries and self-learning. I really enjoyed it, but I want now to build a solid base on which I can develop my future projects.

So I am eating CE forum, The Amp Hour podcast, Embedded Electronic podcast, Dave’s youtube videos, books… morning to evening :slight_smile:

Also, my next goal is to learn KiCad. I have used Eagle since then, really loved it, but Autodesk is not really consistent in their communication on its future then I thought it would be a good time to move to KiCad.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask :slight_smile:

LoraWan Node

LoraWan Node (under the hood on a previous prototype)

A model-train lift motherboard

And one last one, a daughterboard to add lora transmission and Modbus to a gateway

All those projects came with a bunch of mistakes and lot of sweat :smiley:

1 Like

Welcome. Any specific books you’re looking at? I’m reading Making Embedded Systems by Elicia White, and The Art of Electronics end to end. And a whole lot on globalisation impacts, but that’s another matter.

1 Like

Thanks! I am currently reading the art of electronics, which is a brilliant book, I really enjoy it! I didn’t know Making Embedded Systems, I’ve looked at the preview on o’really and I’ll order it, thanks!