LoRa Temperature/Humidity Sensor by TvE build log

[Yup, I’m determined to find out what the quota for concurrent build logs is :grinning:]

I’ve been using my own little wireless room sensors for many years, here’s a somewhat beaten-up and hacked-up one:

These use an STM32L072 and a RFM69 FSK radio. They work well after I spent a lot of time tuning the radio parameters, but they have a pretty short range, at least at the 50kbps modulation I use. I made some with sx1276 LoRa modules as well, but never managed to get over the hump to actually switch everything over. The LoRa modules also aren’t/weren’t that cheap…

Since I want to get familiar with the STM32WLE5 series I figured I’d create a fresh design so I learn the RF design part and also to get some real-world experience with LoRa.

My first step was to acquire some stm32wle5 parts, which hasn’t been easy. Now that I have them, I started to plop down stuff onto a schematic until I hit a roadblock: do I need a power switch to turn the temperature/humidity sensor on/off or is their sleep mode low enough?

There’s only one way to answer that (other than building and measuring), which is to create a spreadsheet and total up the mAh’s (milliampere-hours). For this design I’d like to power everything straight from CR2032 cells without voltage regulator and I find that totaling up mAh is easier than to total up Wh or Joules because I mostly get to ignore the varying voltage (from ~3V down to ~1.8V). The switch mode power supply in the stm32wle5 throws a bit of a monkey wrench into that, but it should be close enough.

So here’s my spreadsheet, which assumes that the device collects a measurement once a minute (green columns) or once every 5 minutes (blue columns) and sends it off plus gets an ACK (this is not LoRaWAN).