Looking for best Project or Book for Beginner

I’m very new to electronics but have dabbled a little with Arduino in the past but never stuck with it because I didn’t really have a purpose or project. Are there any kits or books recommended to start? I’ve looked at Make: Electronics but it requires a kit of components or you have to source them yourself. As for kits, I would prefer something that is useful for future projects such as a power supply kit that could power a breadboard. Any suggestions? By the way Chris, your Shine On You Crazy KiCad videos are great and I hope to follow along and complete that project at some point once I get some basics under my belt.

I’ve really enjoyed the Forrest Mims books that Radio Shack sells for learning electronics. The only thing with those is, in order to really learn the material it requires buying some electronic components and putting them together and experimenting. For kits I usually go to Tindie and search for something I’m interested in to see if someone has made a kit for it. For example, here’s some neat kits that came up when I searched for “soldering kit” on Tindie. Depending on your soldering experience, you may want to start with a kit that has mostly through hole components. Have you checked out the Getting to Blinky course yet? It was great at least for me when I was first learning how to solder. And getting your first board back from oshpark and assembling it is a tremendous motivator.