Laser marking for small-volume production

I am looking for a laser marking system that will be used in small-volume production for the next-generation Joulescopes. Existing Joulescopes have printed labels from the Brady i3300 as shown here.

The goal is to mark black anodized aluminum to give shiny silver/white marks. We will mark the top with a fixed image, likely before assembly. The bottom will be custom-marked per unit after assembly. The total object size is less than 150 x 150 x 40 mm with a marking area less than 100 x 100 mm.

We definitely want safety features (enclosure) that are ISO & OSHA-compliant since the laser will be used at our US-based contract manufacturer. Speed is reasonably important since we pay US hourly rates. Operators can be trained, but the marking process has to be repeatable and reliable.

I have no experience with laser marking. Based upon my research so far, it looks like a fiber laser is the right choice. There are so many vendors! Here is the All3DP Laser Marking Buyers Guide. Only the last few seem to meet the safety requirements (unless the expectation is to integrate your own enclosure). Here they are:

Here are some others that seem to have potential solutions:

I’d rather not spend $40,000 USD when $10,000 USD will do. Does anyone have experience or recommendations? What is a reasonable budget for a suitable laser marker? I appreciate any tips regarding reliable vendors that produce easy-to-use, cost-competitive equipment.

I take my parts down the road to Northeast Laser and their 200,000 sq ft facility and let the people who know what they’re doing deal with it. Cost is like $2.00 each in 100s.

2 Likes

Yes, a supplier is an strong option for the enclosure top. Prestige Screen Printing is 15 minutes away. They print the JS110 cover, and they do laser marking, too.

The enclosure bottom is possible, but it’s more complicated to make work with an external supplier. The bottom has: