KiCad library problems

I’ve been using KICAD for over a year, but am far from proficient. Library management issues are my major issue.

Specifically, setting paths for the libraries and the environmental variables available, and how to use them…there seems to be no way to edit what you’ve setup once you do it, and it survives even after a delete and reload of the SW.

I really don’t want to do anything fancy, just have a place that’s available to all projects, and a second place for parts and footprints of parts I create. My setup is likely really screwed up, and I’ve no ideas how to setup the environment for all the crap KICAD uses…

I can’t seem to find all the parts I’ve used in previous projects when I start a new project. Occasionally, I do some cleanup, which causes more problems…I tend to delete stuff I don’t think I need, like cache and bak files, which cause more problems.

Any advice on how to setup the system so it’s EASY to use???

Hi @cursader,

Library management is a weak part of KiCAD and you’re not alone in finding some things unclear.

The system I use is what works for me. I don’t change the default KiCAD environment variables as I think they’re only used for parts that KiCAD pulls from the Github repository. I simply have one directory where I keep all my own parts and add them to every project using the library wizard. For ease of use, this is one big library for schematic symbols and one big .pretty library of footprints.

I also have my own source code versioning server (subversion) that I use to backup all my projects, including the cache files but not the BAK files. When sending others my projects files, I can simply include the cache files so they don’t have to have access to my parts library.

I’m sure the KiCAD parts management system will see some changes in the future.

Hope this helps,
Regards,
Niels.