Juliean's Build Log

I went through the Getting to Blinky video mostly to learn KiCad, but then decided, what the heck, might as well build the thing, haven’t done SMD in a while. Worked well, first try :slight_smile:

1 Like

Managed to get it mid-blink.

2 Likes

Welcome and nice job Juliean! I noticed you commented that you hadn’t done SMD in awhile. What brought you to KiCad and back to SMD?

Blinking is a good feeling! Soldering job looks nice here as well!

So apparently I should have started this with an intro post. Oh well, doing things backwards isn’t unusual for me :slight_smile:

I’m strictly a hobbyist. I started playing with electronics in elementary school, with the old RadioShack “200 projects in one box” kind of kits. Computer Science degree in college, but pretty much straight software. Just one or two classes on computer architecture and such that touched on hardware. Then my career went into a very different, and non-technical direction, but have always been into tech. Kept my hand in on programming a bit by doing various small projects for the office, for some non-profits I’m invloved with, an occasional open source project, that sort of thing. Mostly PHP in recent years.

Around 2010 I discovered the modern maker movement and played around quite a bit with Arduinos, RPis, etc. Nothing very productive, just some small projects. Hacked a baby toy so we could restart the “falling asleep” music in the crib via a radio transmitter, that sort of thing.

Got my ham radio license in 2015 (KQ2Z), played with that a bit, but mostly just using the radios, not building.anything.