John's Build Log - Taking the step to make something useful

Hi All,

This will be my build log for learning electronics and embedded systems.

The diploma I studied after school many years ago was a 50% hardware 50% software type deal, and I have always been fascinated with designing hardware and then writing the software to make it a full on product. Life happened after my studies though and I just went to where the work opportunities were, so I became a software developer, no hardware in sight. I am currently employed as a software developer for enterprise line of business applications, but the fascination for the hardware side never went away.

I decided to action that recently and got my first STM32 development board and started tinkering with the obligatory ā€˜make the LED blinkā€™ type stuff. I tried quite a couple of groups and courses for brushing up my electronics knowledge (which is VERY basic) but none of them really showed me how to practically use what I am learning. You can only learn Ohmā€™s law and Kirchhoffā€™s law in so many ways before you really want to make something useful :wink:

I stumbled onto Contextual Electronics by accident when Youtube recommended a video to me and I joined because I really like the idea of learning hands on. Take action, fail, ask questions, try againā€¦this process really appeals to me and how I like to work.

I work best if I set myself a goal and work towards it, so to help myself along, I want to achieve the following for a start.

Mid Term Goal (6 months) - DLP 3D Printer Motherboard: