Jeff Rule Build Log

Hello World!

My name is Jeff and I have been working with electronics and arduino’s for 5+ years. I am interested in starting to design my own boards to add arbitrary functionality to my electronic projects. You can see some of the work I have done working with my partner Nick on his Art at the link below. The art sculptures use sound, light, magnetics and mechanical movement all driven by arduino controllers.

https://vimeo.com/user6880281

The project I need to do next is a power supply and dimmer for some LED lights. We are working with these LED filaments that come in the edison style bulbs and they take a lot of voltage to work with. Much larger than normal LED projects. Each led COB (filament) consumes 60-70 volts DC and consume between 5 to 15 mA of current. It is very difficult to find this kind of power supply off the shelf. Then we want to do the typical and be able to dim them with high precision. This implies a dimmer that can handle 130+ volts. I want it in a pretty compact form as it will be embedded in a art sculpture. All these components to my experience are not available to work at these high voltages off the shelf. Most of that stuff is in the < 40 volt range. The filaments have 24 LED’s per filament and consum 1w / filament. The are consuming 0.15mV of current so that works out to about 2.8V / LED and that seems reasonable in the world of LED’s. Below is a photo of one of the filaments just barely lit (@60v) so you can see the individual LEDs.

A photo of the LED filaments I am working with.