Gabe Jasso's Build Log

Hi there,

My day job is industrial safety management for a manufacturing company. I got hooked on electronics in a highshcool elective course, then kinda lost touch with it until last year where I made a commitment to learn more. I’ve been learning basic circuit design and microcontrollers from YT and a MAKE book. The CE projects look cool so I plan to try the free ones first. I also have been learning how to program in the FORTH language and use it for programming Arduino and STM32 micros for my projects, which I’ll show in my first project I’ll post here! (Here’s a link to a simple project I made to monitor a water line inside our RV: Arduino Water Alarm

1 Like

Welcome! Another FORTH programmer here. I’ve worked on CForth and Open Firmware, with Mitch Bradley of Firmworks. He used it for the OLPC laptop BIOS, and I tagged along. I’ve also used it with STM32, ESP8266, ESP32, and Teensy. There’s an old interview of me on Embedded FM; https://embedded.fm/episodes/172

2 Likes

Welcome Gabe!

What made you choose FORTH? (same question for @quozl) Previous experience with the language? Something I should check out? I missed James’ episode, I think, or I don’t remember it, I’ll have to go back and listen again.

Forth is fantastic. I wish more people used it. (And now I realise I should be using it more…)

It’s hard to describe exactly what the appeal of it is, but part of it is that it’s a “build your own language” language. By that, I mean that you can, at the same time, in the same language, be twiddling bits in a peripheral register, and writing code that uses high-level application abstractions (that you’ve built).