Eric Pietrowicz's Build Log

Hey I’m Eric,
I’m a software developer working in the IoT space focusing mostly on BLE, WiFi, and cellular devices.

I’m starting this thread to practice getting a little more comfortable talking about my projects as I try to transition into consulting full time.

1 Like

The first project I’m going to track is a result of this itch I’ve had for a while when prototyping BLE products.

Working on firmware I always wish I had a polished mobile app, while working on mobile I always wish I had a polished peripheral.

I end up in script-land or sending custom payloads using a BLE dev tool like LightBlue.

So, I’m tinkering with a drag & drop “web builder” style BLE controller.

Support some generic components like a slider, color picker, button, graph, etc.

Assign a custom service / characteristic to each component. Characteristics under the same service will be grouped.

Here’s a short demo of it in its current state. I’ll open source everything once it’s in a good spot.

4 Likes

Useful!

1 Like

Cool! I’ve always wanted a simple config-driven phone UI for BLE devices. I’m aware of but haven’t used https://remotexy.com/ and there is https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=cloud.blynk but it doesn’t look free. Neither of these get you the experience of building it yourself however!

1 Like

Project update.

I was able to get most of the scaffolding done for how I will store the components and how they’ll interact with the Bluetooth service.

I have been working on implementing the slider component first. In hindsight I probably could’ve started with something a little easier… But, since the slider is able to interface with any characteristic type (read, write & notify) it was a great opportunity to get all of the interactions framed out.