EE Student Seeking Career Advice

CE Community,
I am a second year EE student pursuing a minor in CS at Clemson University and am hoping you may be able to provide some career advice or possibly refer me to a career resource. Though I am still learning EE basics, I have learned quite a bit about the engineering industry through reading and interviews. This past year I worked on the electrical systems of an engineering robotics challenge. I am hoping to end up in hands on automation, controls, testing, or R&D. To be completely honest, I am scared of ending up in a paper pushing job where I never leave a desk. Do you have any advice for careers to look into or possibly some interesting people to connect with? I imagine Chris and the community will have a wealth of advice. Thoughts?
Jake Ammons
Sophomore EE/CS Student
jakeammons[dot]com
jake[at]jakeammons[dot]com

Hey Jake!

First off, I think you’re going down the right path by asking for advice early on. I know I didn’t ask until much later in my career.