Does USB2.0 Power Delivery demand Vendor ID?

Hi

I am looking at USB2 for powering a device at 5V/1A with some communication in the production setup. I will use a USB-C plug

I can use CC pins to boost the power to 1.5A if I use a USB-C port to drive it. If I use a USB-A port to drive this device, then I need data handshaking to boost the power to 1.5A (no CC pins)

I assume if I use resistors on a USB-C CC1 and CC2, then I can boost the power and do not need a Vendor ID that would cost 5000 USD per year

If I use data to boost the power, do I then need the Vendor ID?

Also, maybe to avoid the Vendor ID, use a subset VID from ST, NXP or Microchip?

Or an FTDI chip in between…, (adds to the BoM)

Regards

Klaus

By the way, I have never done a USB design before.

In the Amp Hour electronics podcast, Dave talks about that it is very difficult. But, is that true or is that just his problems with SW as usual?

Just get a USB VID/PID from MCS Electronics. Guaranteed unique, perfectly valid, but will not pass USB-IF testing.

USB can get complicated, but if you are just doing UART-style communications using CDC at less than 1 Mbps (USB full-speed), it’s not bad. Go with TinyUSB and a well-supported chip. All of the vendor-provided code also works well enough for this use case. Don’t try to write your own USB stack or complain that it should fit in less RAM/Flash, and you’ll be fine.

2 Likes

Hi @kvk,

I’d like to bring a bit of clarification here and potentially clear up any confusion you might have through a little bit of history.

When they noticed the demand for more power than the old 500mA@5V could provide, the USB Implementers Forum came up in 2007 with USB Battery Charging (currently in rev 1.2, specification here) which, allowed devices to request 1.5A@5V while still maintaining a data link with a computer.