Detect and block LTE band

I have a conceptual question and I hope someone can help me clarify or find an answer

In the context of using a telephone inside a room or office, is it possible to detect an LTE band for example band 7 and band 28, and at the same time block communication with those bands?

I have the doubt if this can generate a RF feedback between the blocking circuit and the detector circuit, so in practice it would not be possible, due the false positives.

I am not an RF engineer and I am not proficient at that level, please someone who can explain to me if this idea is feasible.

Is this for a product or a test? It is a viloation of FCC rules to intentionally block communicstions.

1 Like

Technically you could stop the jamming signal for a brief moment and listen to see if you still detect the original signal, then resume/stop accordingly but like @steveg mentioned such a device would be illegal.

Hello, yes, correct, but in my country technically it is not illegal but still I think that this problem is still under discussion.
The context of this is for an industrial use to avoid accidents. Truck drivers have a bad habit of using telephones on their workday, accidents often happen and there is no way to verify if it was because of the telephone. So the last solution is to block the communication of these inside the cabin.

But I just wanted to know if electronically it is possible or feasible to work reliably

Hi! I do not wish to open the Pandora’s box of the context for that question - only to say, the implications of this are many, not limited to legally, ethically and even though your intentions are for OH&S if there is an accident and no coverage you could have the opposite effect.

None the less the technical side is interesting though, however working in the telecoms industry I know most of the engineers I know would be unlikely to answer the question - knowledge is not illegal itself but it’s a slippery slope.