Chris Gammell Build Log

Hello world!

My name is Chris and I’ve been working on electronics for 10+ years. I’m hoping to learn more about embedded and do a bunch of fun electronics projects while on CE.

I’m creating this post as a template for others getting started on the forum. The first thing new members should be doing is posting to the build log as a placeholder and introduction.

2 Likes

Excellent, I’ve been doing software for 20+ years and learning electronics, I’ve done some embedded software development and would love to help out where I can.

This weekend I’ll be building up the “Shine On You Crazy KiCad” boards (videos here: Early look for forum members - Community - The Contextual Electronics Forums). I just got all the parts in today:

https://twitter.com/Chris_Gammell/status/868223416389775361

I also will be building up my Whizoo reflow oven and posting more videos here!

2 Likes

Still need to build up the Shine On boards, which shouldn’t take too long. The RPi programming will likely take me much longer.

I also decided to take on a project with RS485 transceivers. I’ve been meaning to do this for a while and decided i needed to stretch my layout muscles (without filming it). Will update as it gets built:

Repo if you want to follow along:

1 Like

Too lazy to make a 3D model for the connectors, but here’s the view in 3D

1 Like

Just got two of these beauts in the mail, time to start playing around. Maybe another CE header breakout?

1 Like

Update: the blink has blonked!

4 Likes

Just realized my notifications were all messed up on the site, so I haven’t been subscribed to certain topics. If you w ere waiting for a response from me, I’m sorry about that! Also, if you call out my username with an @ symbol, (ie @ChrisGammell) it will ping me even faster.

Achievement unlocked! :slight_smile: