Can you pull current from USB-C 5V power without negotiation?

I am designing a product that will have some lithium ion batteries and I would like to use the 5V from a USB-C connector to provide power to the device and as a source of current to recharge the lithium ion batteries. However I’d like to avoid the additional circuitry around handling power negotiation that comes with the USB-C standard… can I just put 5.1K pull downs on the CC lines and tap the 5V for up to 3A with no additional circuitry or negotiation?

I don’t intend to use the USB for data or anything… just need a 5V power source and figured USB-C might be a good choice given how ubiquitous the chargers are these days.

It seems like this should be ok but I’ve never done it before and want to see if anyone more familiar with USB-C has an opinion?

1 Like

The 5.1k resistors will only get you USB Default Power, which is 500 mA for Hi-Speed devices. To get more than that, you need to use one of a few other specs. The most likely for your case would be Type-C Current. The Source will change its pull-up resistor to set the voltage on the CC line. There’s three bands for Default, 1.5 A, and 3.0 A, all at 5 V. To get more current or different voltages, you’ll need Power Delivery communication.

1 Like

Thanks Jason, that is very helpful!

Do you know if its an acceptable practice to just tie 5.1K to GND and pull the 500mA from VBUS? Or if you are using USB-C its required to have a CC controller even though you don’t care about data, connector orientation, etc?

Could I change the pull down value from 5.1K to some other value and get the full 3A?

Basically I just need a power source, so I’m trying to avoid having to design in a CC controller but I’m not familiar enough with the USB specs to determine if this is feasible or if I just need to bite the bullet and have a CC controller chip…