Building an absolute beginner course

One of the focuses (foci?) of CE v 3.0 is making sure there is enough beginner content to make sure everyone is on the same page. I’m looking at building an “absolute beginner” short course about electronics. This would be along the lines of “what do you need to know about electronics before even thinking of a course like CE”. I obviously have my own list of items I would discuss, but would like to also collect input from the community as well. So here are some questions that might help me make an effective short course:

• What were some of the most confusing things you encountered when starting electronics?
  • What was the thing you “didn’t even know how to google for”? (for example, understanding a MOSFET is a type of transistor, so knowing you should understand a little bit about transistors)
  • What was the most effective thing in making you want to learn more about electronics?

Thanks!

• Most confusing things 1) opamps, everything about them, 2) to ground or not to ground (analog, digital, ac, dc, mix and match)

• Didn’t even know how to google for - open collector, common emitter, and the weird beasts called FETs!

• Most effective thing in making me obsessed with electronics - realizing that I CAN make and solder a surface mount PCB, along with the wondrous things called KiCAD and OSH Park! I have three designs on order as I write this, and before CE v 2.0 I believed that would be impossible.

I’d say (as someone who understands the basics okay I’d guess) that understanding how the circuit works just from looking at a schematic. That is kinda in two parts. What is each device doing on it’s own and overall in the circuit.

• Is that a resistor, op-amp, diode (what type), etc,
  • What components go together to form smaller parts of the circuit.
    • Inverting op-amp with positive feedback vs comparator vs buffer amp and what the output looks like and is how is it used