Brooke's Build Log

This will be my CE Build Log

Teensy Breakout. I plan to use a keyed connector here vs pin headers when I don’t need to stack. Boards and parts are in.

Bottom

Teensy Sensorboard. Boards and parts are in.

PCB Top

PCB Bottom

Layout Front

Layout Back

1 Like

Hey Brooke, it looks like you are using the same form factor of the teensy for you sensor board. Very nice!

1 Like

I show how I learned to access a MCP9808 temperature sensor with the Bus Pirate.

1 Like

I show how I learned to access a DS7505 temperature sensor with the Bus Pirate.

1 Like

What made you decide to use the bus pirate instead of another platform? (like Arduino)

Those pictures look great! How did you create those? I am just getting started with the software, so it’s new to me.

@tnichols,

I am using the Bus Pirate as it is a much quicker iteration cycle. I don’t have to change code, compile, upload, run each time I need to change the communication a bit. Unlike what I would need to do on the Arduino/Teensy. I just use a terminal like putty/hyperterminal and connect via serial. From there it is very easy to send hex, bin, or dec strings to the chip to characterize how it work without any of the associated code time. Once I have that figured out, then I head to the dev platform (Arduino/Teensy) and code up my findings from the BP.

I personally find it to be more fun and a faster feedback loop using the BP. Plus I am finding I don’t have to spend as much time coding as I already have a mental model of how to talk to the chip as well as my own written “spec” for the commands I plan to use.

@peteyfeet,

Which pictures were you wondering about? The 3D ones of the boards are a built in feature in KiCAD. When you are in the PCB Editor (pcbnew). You go to View | 3D Viewer.

For the Bus Pirate photos, I used an iPhone w/ SnagIT. The background is a gymnastics mat.