BJT or Mosfet for my application

I’m pretty new to the whole electronics thing, I’m trying to figure out how to decide between a BJT and a mosfet for my output. I’m turning on a relay and have found circuits for both, but can’t quite figure out why I’d choose one or the other.

I’m curious to hear if anyone has a good answer for this too, I had the same question working on my sprinkler system and did a tonne of research and still don’t have a good answer. I think it would be helpful to know what the specs of the relay are and what type of load you’ll have on the relay.

So both obviously work, since you’re seeing circuits for both, Sam.

The thing that I usually tell people is that the current requirements are going to be the key piece:

• BJT - If you’re driving from another part of a circuit that has sufficient current, then a BJT will work fine. If not, you won’t be able to drive the element “hard enough” to turn it on.
  • MOSFET - Allows for a lower current control, so this is what I normally suggest. There are some downsides as well, but the low current requirements for turning on a MOSFET as a switch is not one of them.

In general, I tell beginners to start with MOSFETs. This is because most beginners are starting with a microcontroller of some sort (ie. an ATMEGA on an Arduino) which has a current limit on the pins of about 20 mA. This is more than sufficient to drive a MOSFET, but likely will not be able to drive a BJT hard enough to turn on a relay (without using 2 to set up a darlington type circuit).

MOSFETs are super cheap and come in a variety of packages. I recommend keeping something like 2n7002’s around your bench for when you need to turn something on (datasheet)

3 Likes

Wait, if the current doesn’t matter like you said, why does it state maximum drain currents for that part?